Simulation- Skin layer

Because I still couldn’t figure out the collision issue. So I decided to start with the single leg and do simple rigging and skinning for the opposite one. Cause in the animatic, the camera would only zoom in on one leg.

I exported the muscle layer through alembic cache. But when I played the animation, I found bones are not matched each other. I checked with my original scene, and they look fine. I think maybe I changed some settings, so they cause issues.

So I opened the scene, in which I haven’t changed the leg position yet, and these two bones are running correctly. The only thing is, my right leg using the left leg’s animation, but it is not a big deal.


Spring Chain

Then I started to simulate the skin layer. I set my skin as zCloth and set Reet Scale as 0.985, to shrink down the skin as the tutorial did.

However, I feel this method does not work cause I didn’t sculpt the muscle in a good shape, so the connections between each muscle are not tight. It could find there are many gaps. Also, the skin always went inside of the muscle even I opened the collision detection. I think maybe the movement is too fast to follow.

So I followed another toturial which is set the skin as zTissue. Then I created more attachments to make the skin follows muscles.

Most actions look natural but I found the skin would pucker up if it was bent too much.

So I did zTet to reduce the skinfold.

Leave a comment